Apple crumble

As I lay in bed thinking and trying to categorize my thoughts , all I could think about was the apples kept in my fridge. Bought from my street vendor, they looked nothing short of the Granny Smith apples. Huge, red, and insanely juicy apples that have a rich, mellow flavor when baked or cooked.

Since I had a bunch of them, my mind started churning with what I could do with the overflow of apple’s in my not-so-huge fridge!

Appleflan, apple sauce, apple cake, apple hawla, I could count them off my fingertips.

I really wanted to try apple crumble since a long time . I had the recipe scribbled down in one if my notebooks, waiting to be picked and devoured .

A quick look in my pantry, voila !
I had all the ingredients at hand..

Wait no more my friends, cause with this recipe . You’ll have to look no further!

The recipe is super easy. It calls for no fancy ingredients and is lip smacking. What else do you need eh?

You’ll want to keep making this. AGAIN and AGAIN!

Ready?
Well here we go!

Ingredients:
2 Apples (peeled, cored)
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1 cup powdered sugar
50 gms all purpose flour.
2-3 tbs milk .
1 medium sized egg
1/2 tsp salt

Recipe:

Preheat oven to 180 C.

Peel the apples and after you have cored them, chop them into small pieces. Here ,I  like my apple pieces to be really small, I don’t like huge chunks of apple. However this is completely your preference here

image

Sprinkle cinnamon and 1/2 cup of powdered sugar on the apple pieces.

image

Mix well and keep aside.

In another bowl, cream the butter and remaining half cup of sugar well.

image

Add in the egg

image

Mix until the ingredients are fully incorporated.

image

Add a pinch of salt , or half teaspoon to be precise

image

Next, add in the flour

image

Make sure that you don’t overmix here, the flour should just barely be incorporated.
Immediately add in the apple/cinnamon mixture to the flour mixture, and mix slightly.

image

The batter will be super thick.

image

(Add the milk here, if you feel that the batter is impossible to work with).

Butter and 8X6 pan

image

Carefully pour the mixture into the pan and spread as much as you can. Since the batter is thick,it may take a while.
But, patience darlings!!
Spread spread spread

image

Bake for 10 min at 180 C and for next 20-25 min at 160 C.

image

Cut into small square, and serve with buttery caramel sauce .
The rich crumbly texture and caramel will sway your senses into undeniable bliss .

image

Here, have a bite.

🙂
Thanks for dropping by!

Leave a Reply

IndiBlogger

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Write Up Cafe

WriteUp Cafe - Together we Write

Blog Top Sites

