Update/Jalebi with rabdi

Yes I know. I have been missing for almost a month. And I have nothing really to back my absence. I was personally going through one of those phases where you just dont want to do anything. The only things I can smile about is my birthday. Yes, my birthday(1st June) was well, a happy change from all the monotony and restlessness I was facing .
I officially turned 20! Talk about all the things I’d imagined to be by the time I’d turned 20. Not a single thing done!
Anyways, I figured I can keep whining or I can cook away all my issues.

The solution?
A bowl of hot jalebis with mouth watering rabdi!

This dish is so easy, I was mentally kicking myself for depriving me of heavenly sweetness . I don’t usually eat out, and certainly prefer to eat in and cook whatever fast food I crave. In India, you’ll find jalebis at every mithai corner.

Jalebis are those warm sweet nothings, that take you back to a wonderful time. Bite into one and at first you will be hit with something sort of a pretzel, chew a little more and hot sweet sugary syrup will work its way down slowly through your throat. Sending you into eternal bliss . And ofcourse lots and lots of joy. Want more bliss? Greedy me..Pair it with warm or cold rabdi, and your officially eating food of the gods.

Recipe

Jalebis
Makes around 20-30 medium sized jalebis

Batter:
2 cups all purpose flour
1/2 cup rice flour (just grind a handfull of grains if you don’t have it at hand)
1/2 tsp baking powder
4 tbsp unflavored yogurt
A few strands of saffron soaked in 1tbsp of milk or a few drops of yellow food color

Sugar syrup:
3 cups sugar
2 cups water
A few cardamom pods
A few strands of saffron

Ghee for frying ( Clarified butter)

Method:
Mix the all-purpose flour, rice flour and baking powder well.

image

Add in the yogurt

image

Stir in the saffron soaked milk or the yellow food color.

image

Mix well and let it ferment for around 5 hours or preferably overnight.

image

Sugar syrup:
In the mean time, mix all the ingredients and let it boil till it reaches the single strand stage. Single strand stage means, when you take a little of the syrup and press it between your index finger and thumb, a strand is formed that is sturdy and doesn’t break easily.

Keep aside.

When the batter is fermented, heat the ghee in a deep bottomed frying pan, alternatively you could use a flat pan if you want to cut down on the ghee.

Pour the batter in a unused ketchup bottle or even the frosting pens would do. Pour the batter in that and use a nozzle that isnt too wide or too narrow. Make concentric circles, till your preference just like you would to make a funnel cake

image

Turn and flip to the other side, and let it fry until golden brown with crisp edges. Or until its cooked. Let it rest for a minute and immediately soak it in the sugar syrup for a few minutes or until the jalebi is fully soaked in the syrup.

Serve warm or cold

image

You can serve this with or without the rabdi. Either way, its amazing.

I’ll be uploading the recipe of rabdi soon.

Till then, ciao!

Thanks for dropping by 🙂

Leave a Reply

IndiBlogger

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Write Up Cafe

WriteUp Cafe - Together we Write

Blog Top Sites

