Marshmallows

I’m not a fan of marshmallows. No, really. They have never really caught my fancy.
I never understood what the fuss was all about . Roasting marshmallows in the campfire, or dipping em in hot chocolate. Still not special enough .. Wherever I had bought marshmallows from, be it from India or lugged along with luggage from USA, I disliked em. I always thought of them as some “meltable” candy/chewing gum.
I decided to change that. Everybody wouldn’t be bonkers about marshmallows if it wasn’t that good. Maybe I got prejudiced a little too soon. I decided I’d make marshmallows at home. No buying em. And then decide. Once and for all. If the store bought ones can’t convince me, maybe MAYBE I could convince ME.

The outcome of my lil experiment?

I am officially a marshmallow fan!
I have hopped on to the bandwagon of the lovers. I’m totally in love with marshmallows now. Infact, I keep popping em in my mouth every now and then.(the hidden compartment)

This recipe makes those fluffy and duh-le-cious marshmallows! Using minimum ingredients that are found in almost every pantry (save the vegetarians, I’m sorry ! This recipe uses gelatin 😦  ) , this recipe is an amalgamation of almost 3 recipes that I have carefully selected. No corn syrup. No maple syrup. No agave nectar. But you will need the electric whisk. I haven’t tried it with the handheld one. So, that’s your call . Give those arms of steel these marshmallows as a reward.

Anyways, I’m not gonna take any more time, and just fire away my recipe now

Ingredients:
2 tbsp gelatin mixed with 3 tbsp very cold water.
2 – 3 cups sugar.
1 cup water .
1/4 cup corn flour
1/4 cup powdered sugar.
Nearly a pinch of salt
1 tsp vanilla extract

Recipe:

First and foremost, put the whisk and the bowl in which you will beat the marshmallows into the freezer. The colder , the better .
Keep the concealed gelatin aside.
image
Boil the water and sugar together until it reaches the soft ball stage or registers around 235-240℉.
image
Remove from heat.
In the chilled mixing bowl, add the concealed gelatin and slowly pour the sugar syrup.
Make sure you pour slowly as the syrup is very hot and it may burn you.
Add the syrup very slowly while whisking.
image

Stir in the vanilla
In around 5-6 minutes at the highest speed, the mixture will start to thicken and almost look like marshmallow creme.
image

While the mixture is whisking , on baking sheet spread the mixed powdered sugar and corn starch together.
image

Pour the mixture onto this sheet and sprinkle the top with remaining powdered sugar.
This will solidify in around 3 hours, but leave this for an overnight wait outside, covered in a clingfilm.
After that, cut into desired shapes and sprinkle additional sugar if you like on the sides. Or you could just toss the sugar and marshmallows into a ziploc bag and mix.

However before cutting into shapes, I stick this whole sheet in the freezer to let it firm up a lil more, not that the overnight wait doesn’t do that. But, I guess the freezing makes it a lil more “stretchier”
Keep refrigerated for upto a week, and in the freezer for upto a month. Best part is, I don’t need to defrost this if I have saved it in the freezer. This makes em all the more chewier.

image

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Abhishek
    Jul 07, 2013 @ 17:37:35

    nice! I liked it, I’m willing to try Marshmallows now(y) 😀

    Reply

  2. benjamin
    Jul 12, 2013 @ 07:25:49

    Nice post. I learn something more challenging on different blogs everyday. It will always be stimulating to read content from other writers and practice a little something from their store. I’d prefer to use some with the content on my blog whether you don’t mind. Natually I’ll give you a link on your web blog. Thanks for sharing.
    benjamin http://sunuface.com/index.php?do=/profile-59826/info/

    Reply

  3. alfie
    Jul 13, 2013 @ 15:39:01

    Great blog post. It’s useful information.

    Reply

  4. Trackback: Push the Zombie hack

Leave a Reply

IndiBlogger

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Write Up Cafe

WriteUp Cafe - Together we Write

Blog Top Sites

