So-Not Molten Lava Cupcakes

Yesterday, I picked up a “100 everyday baking recipes” that I received as a gift from my bestie. Its got wonderful recipes, and I have tried dozens of them . One of my favorite recipes made from that book is “Warm-Molten Centered Chocolate Cupcakes”. I have made this quite a few times, so its a tried and tested recipe. I decided I’d double the recipe. Who doesn’t want extra cupcakes eh? Mistake number one.
I quickly glanced through the recipe, mentally making a note if I had it in my pantry or not. Flour.Chocolate.Egg.Cocoa, check. Castor sugar? I’ll just grind some.
I got all of em together, and made the batter. A quick glance at the recipe. Self raising flour.
Duh! I added some baking powder and mixed again. Mistake number two. I was sure I had mixed so much, that I had done something to its gluten content.

Nevertheless, I popped em in the oven, they were done in less than half the time I normally baked them. And no molten chocolate inside. Just a solid piece of chocolate. Though the cupcakes weren’t inedible. They weren’t what I had intended to bake. Just plain chocolate Cupcake.

After tossing them in the trash, I decide I’d make gheeand use up all the clotted cream stored in my fridge since the past week.

So much for molten cupcakes.

Lessons learnt.
1. Read instructions twice, thrice. Make sure you read them correctly, even if you have made it many times .
2. Never add extra ingredients, if you have forgotten one. Especially something like self-raising flour.
3. Double a recipe. At your own peril

18 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. cheap louis vuitton bags
    Jul 21, 2013 @ 23:30:45

    Thanks for ones marvelous posting! I truly enjoyed reading it,
    you could be a great author.I will be sure to bookmark your blog
    and will often come back in the future. I want to encourage continue your
    great writing, have a nice evening!

    Reply

  2. sugandha118
    Jul 24, 2013 @ 06:10:32

    I am the one who does the mistake number two all the time…i always think replacing an ingredient wont make a difference, but it does.

    Reply

  3. グッチ バッグ
    Aug 01, 2013 @ 14:54:05

    I blog frequently and I genuinely appreciate your information.

    The article has truly peaked my interest. I will bookmark your site
    and keep checking for new information about once a week.
    I subscribed to your Feed too.

    Reply

  4. google search engine
    Aug 02, 2013 @ 14:54:07

    Hey there! Quick question that’s totally off topic. Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly? My blog looks weird when viewing from my iphone4. I’m trying to find a theme or plugin that might be able to resolve this problem.

    If you have any suggestions, please share. Appreciate it!

    Reply

    • Arshi
      Aug 02, 2013 @ 19:29:36

      If your using WordPress, there’s an option for a mobile friendly appearance..Visit your dashboard and go to Appearance-> Mobile.
      πŸ™‚

      Reply

  5. プラダ長貑布
    Aug 03, 2013 @ 02:38:45

    Very quickly this site will be famous among all blogging
    visitors, due to it’s nice articles

    Reply

  6. γƒ΄γ‚£γƒˆγƒ³ 長貑布
    Aug 03, 2013 @ 10:38:43

    My relatives all the time say that I am wasting my time here at net,
    but I know I am getting knowledge every day by reading thes
    fastidious articles.

    Reply

  7. プラダ貑布 パンズ
    Aug 06, 2013 @ 07:12:24

    Howdy just wanted to give you a quick heads up. The text in your article seem to be running off the screen in
    Opera. I’m not sure if this is a format issue or something to do with internet browser compatibility but I figured I’d post to let you know.
    The layout look great though! Hope you get the issue solved soon.
    Cheers

    Reply

  8. レむバン ι€šθ²©
    Aug 07, 2013 @ 22:05:05

    Hi there would you mind letting me know which web host you’re using? I’ve loaded your blog in 3 completely different web browsers and I must say this blog loads a lot quicker then most.

    Can you recommend a good hosting provider at a reasonable price?
    Many thanks, I appreciate it!

    Reply

  9. γƒˆγƒͺーバーチ貑布 パンズ
    Aug 08, 2013 @ 02:54:25

    Hi there, after reading this remarkable paragraph
    i am also cheerful to share my know-how here with mates.

    Reply

  10. レむバン パガネ
    Aug 08, 2013 @ 23:58:06

    Hey very interesting blog!

    Reply

  11. レむバン
    Aug 09, 2013 @ 00:43:08

    Hello! Would you mind if I share your blog with my twitter group?
    There’s a lot of people that I think would really enjoy your content. Please let me know. Cheers

    Reply

  12. γƒˆγƒͺーバーチ
    Aug 09, 2013 @ 15:11:36

    These are actually wonderful ideas in concerning blogging.

    You have touched some nice points here. Any way keep up
    wrinting.

    Reply

  13. レむバン
    Aug 12, 2013 @ 06:55:02

    I blog often and I genuinely appreciate your content.
    The article has truly peaked my interest. I will bookmark your site and keep
    checking for new details about once per week. I opted in for your
    RSS feed too.

    Reply

  14. γƒˆγƒͺーバーチ靴
    Aug 12, 2013 @ 09:57:34

    Someone essentially assist to make severely articles I would state.

    This is the very first time I frequented your web page and to this point?
    I surprised with the analysis you made to create this particular submit incredible.

    Great activity!

    Reply

  15. rayban パガネ
    Aug 12, 2013 @ 10:48:54

    This design is wicked! You certainly know how to keep a reader
    amused. Between your wit and your videos, I
    was almost moved to start my own blog (well, almost…HaHa!) Fantastic job.
    I really enjoyed what you had to say, and more than that, how you presented it.
    Too cool!

    Reply

  16. Tamatha Marcellino
    Aug 17, 2013 @ 17:06:00

    It’s not my first time to go to see this web site, i am browsing this web page dailly and obtain fastidious facts from here everyday.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

IndiBlogger

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Write Up Cafe

WriteUp Cafe - Together we Write

Blog Top Sites

