Black Forest Rasgulla Cake

Have you ever met somebody who keeps probing you all the time? Who Keeps questioning your beliefs, your choices, and with these questions, slowly make you realize the bigger picture, with their immense care and concern become a part of your life with such ease, you wonder how you’d ever met. The kind of people who help you carve yourself into a beautiful person. I wonder!

With the grace of god, not only have I met one such somebody, I have grown manifolds as a person, as an individual, as a human being. All with the help and gentle nudging of my somebody.

Today being “THE” birthday, I decided to infuse “the favorite mithai” in the cake.

Around a year back, this cake was specially requested. Seems that the Masterchef fever hadn’t died down. (This cake was made in its season’s finale)
The Masterchef site had a deplorable recipe. Incomplete to the core and highly confusing.After a lot of hunting for the perfect recipe, I failed to come across any.
The aim of this cake was to infuse rasgullas in the gâteau. Schwarzwälder Kirschtorte (sounds so exotic!) literally translating to “Black Forest cherry torte” has liqueur added which gives this classic cake, a unique twist..
No alcohol for me please!
I needed this cake to be extra special, taste amzaing and look good. Since this cake had to not only be distributed amongst some of my classmates, it was also going to be devoured by a bunch of rowdy hostelites who lets face it, are always ready to pounce on anyone.
I turned to the internet, searching for one that fit my budget, and the current Indian baking scenario. Zilch. Nothing seemed good enough.

Fortunately, I had Star’s book edition of various baking delicacies, which included the classic black forest cake.
A few edits, and the recipe was good to go..

This cake is moist, super fluffy with all the eggs (six!) and is sure to impress one and all..You can’t go wrong with this recipe..A lil time consuming..but worth it…!
I started at around 1.00 am (Yes, morning..sob sob) and with all the rest time and frosting, finished it at around 6.00 am. The in between “sehri” , cooling times, and those little things that hold you up..so I suggest you bake it on day one, and frost it the next day..it will really be a relief to your muscles..

Since it was so late, with of course no daylight, the pictures are mostly flashy..sorry about that..I made a double tiered cake, but you can make one cake by dividing the batter into 3 eight inch pans.

I hope you enjoy making this as much as I did!

Ingredients:
For the cake
150 gms dark chocolate
6 eggs (separated)
150 gms self raising flour
150 gms unsalted butter (can sub with margarine)
150 gms icing sugar ( I just used some ground sugar instead)

For the filling:
8-12 rasgullas
100 gms cherry/blueberry compote
400 ml whipped cream

Decoration:
100 gms Chocolate caraques/Chocolate curls/Grated chocolate

Recipe:
Preheat oven to 350℉
Melt the chocolate in a bain-maire or microwave it until it melts.IMAG2441
In another bowl, add the soft butter and pour in the melted chocolate.IMAG2446

Beat until creamy.
Add in the sugar and one egg yolk. Beat. Keep adding one egg yolk at a time.

IMAG2472
Sift the flour (I hardly ever sift, as I don’t find any difference in the cakes.However you may proceed with the sifting.)
Beat the egg whites until fluffy and peaks are formed.

IMAG2428
Add the sifted flour to the chocolate mixture and beat well.

IMAG2478

Gently fold in the egg whites.
Pour the mixture in 3 greased 8 inch circular baking tin. IMAG2491

(I used one 6″ pan and one 4″ pan as I didn’t have one)
Bake at 350℉ for 40 minutes or till done..

While the cake is being baked, you can make the blueberry/cherry compote..I made cherry since this was available in the market..

Recipe for cherry compote:
Deseed the cherry, remove the stems and cut in small pieces.
Pour in 1/2 cup water in a pan, add the cherries,3/4th cup sugar, 1tbsp cornflour mixed with 2tbsp water..cook for 10 minutes until thick. Use accordingly.

IMAG2502

When the cake is done, split it into two parts.
Pour some rasgulla syrup onto the cakes. It should be wet to touch, but not too wet that the syrup starts to leak.
Also, take around 8 rasgullas and split them into halves..I needed 9 according to my cake measurements..It may slightly vary according to the size..

Now,place one cake piece , put some whipped cream on it..make sure your generous.

IMAG2522

A few tbsp of cherry compote..

IMAG2527

and then some of the halved rasgullas..

IMAG2533

I used around six seven, until the cake piece was covered with rasgullas..

Top with the second layer of the cake.

IMAG2534

Again, some whipped cream, followed by cherry compote and then the rasgullas..Since I had a double tiered cake, I could do only one layer per cake.So one rasgulla layer for the base, and another for the smaller cake..

I topped the cake with some chocolate shavings/gratings on the sides,IMAG2547

One thing I can say is, this cake is for those who love rasgullas..you can taste the rasgullas in every bite. The cake is soft , moist and just crumbles in the mouth..somehow this combination works perfectly. With the rasgullas complementing the cake, and the tartness of the cherry compote makes sure that the cake is not too sweet..

Here, have a bite!

Here, have a bite!

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jinksanthra
    Jul 27, 2013 @ 08:18:25

    that looks so yummy..can i get a bite ? 😛

    Reply

  2. chetan
    Jul 27, 2013 @ 13:51:16

    yummy 🙂 nice blog with sweet cake…can please deliver it on birthday 😉

    Reply

  3. Georgann Collicott
    Aug 31, 2013 @ 03:14:35

    This is really interesting, You are a very skilled blogger.
    I have joined your feed and look forward to seeking more of your magnificent post.
    Also, I’ve shared your website in my social networks!

    Reply

  4. Trackback: Black Forest Cake | Bandra Girl
  5. Kakul
    Dec 11, 2013 @ 03:59:56

    Hi,

    I want to try this cake without adding the eggs. Any suggestions? Thanks.

    Reply

    • Ronak
      Dec 11, 2013 @ 18:38:58

      Hey Kakul!
      I suggest you bake any egg-less chocolate cake, use that as a base and follow the rest of the recipe as it is. If you are unsure as to which recipe to use, I recommend two very fabulous chocolate sponge recipes. One is http://tinyurl.com/8jwjaoy and the other is http://tinyurl.com/qjrvztu . Choose the one you find best and go ahead with the cake.
      It is worth it! Good Luck and have a wonderful week ahead!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

IndiBlogger

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Write Up Cafe

WriteUp Cafe - Together we Write

Blog Top Sites

