Salted Zeera Biscuits

wpid-IMG_20130822_1.png

Do you remember much of your childhood? For me, its more of a blur. I cant recall any of it save a few experiences that changed me as a person, but once I think about high school I have a clear recollection of the past.

These biscuits remind of a happy day, when it was pouring in Mumbai and my angelic mom got me a cup of steaming chai and zeera biscuits to happily nibble on. Isn’t it so easy to remember these moments as if they happened just yesterday? Though these were store bought back then, I wanted to revisit that feeling once again.

I got down to writing all the ingredients I could taste. Zeera for sure, a mix of all purpose flour and wheat flour, with a dash of green chillies, probably some sesame seeds. I gave up midway.
After a lot of hunting, I knew I’d come across a keeper.
The slight crackle of sesame and zeera, mixed with chillies make this meeting one spicy salty fiesta your mouth. You wont be disappointed. 🙂

Some may not call these actual biscuits because the dough is fried rather than the traditional baking of biscuits, but trust me this will make you nostalgic.

For me, a trip down memory lane was worth making these.

Ingredients:
1 cup all purpose flour
1/2 cup whole wheat flour
2 tbsp Sesame seeds
1 tsp cumin seeds (Zeera)
2-3 green chillies
1 piece of ginger (should be around an inch)
1 sprig curry leaves
Salt according to taste
3 tbsp hot neutral flavored oil
A pinch of asafoetida
Oil for deep frying

Recipe:
Blend the chillies, curry leaves and ginger to a fine paste.

In a bowl, add the flours, sesame and cumin seeds, asafoetida, salt , the prepared paste and hot oil

.wpid-IMAG3049_1.jpg
Mix well until you form a smooth dough. Add a few tbsp of water if the oil isn’t enough to form dough . I needed around 3 tbsp water.

IMAG3051_1
When the dough is formed, heat the oil in a deep pan and reduce heat to minimum. The temperature should be such that when you fry the biscuits, they get a deep golden color and the dough is evenly cooked. Like when you fry doughnuts and you need the oil to be at such a temperature that gives you a thoroughly cooked doughnut.

While the oil is heating, divide the dough into two balls and roll out the divided dough onto a flat surface. Proceed to flatten the dough with a rolling pin , it should be of medium thickness. Not too thick, not too thin.
.wpid-100_4589.JPG

Around 1/2 cm

Make diagonal cuts, or cut according to preference.

Fry until golden brown, turning the sides often. (around 30 seconds)100_4599

Leave a Reply

IndiBlogger

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Write Up Cafe

WriteUp Cafe - Together we Write

Blog Top Sites

