Chocolate Chip Cookies

wpid-IMG_20130830_140442.jpg

Sitting in the rickshaw waiting for the traffic to ease so that I could drop him off, I looked at the boxes I held. A huge box filled with chocolate chip cookies and another one for chocolate fudge. Two of his favorites.

A quick glance at the surroundings and I knew I would never be able to live somewhere other than Bombay. This is my city.

I knew no other place. I belong here.

The bustling traffic, the pothole riddled road, the pollution, the grind of the city, the hopeless authorities. Nothing seemed too big now. I could ,can and will live with that.

He’s going to Delhi for a month and all I wanted for him was to take with him a little bit of Bombay , more of Bandragirl with him 😉

I saw him and handed over the boxes, his face gleaming with greed for the treats that awaited him. I waited for the train to chug along and saw him grow tinier and tinier as the train left the platform.

Back to home, and here I am typing this recipe that is so close to innumerable hearts, and me of course.

The cookies are crunchy and so rich, with a wonderful caramel flavor that is lent by the butter, gorgeous chocolate chips and walnuts to make them all the more heavenly.

Dunk em in a glass of cold milk, and your not gonna stop at one. I promise.

I say this, as I look at a message that gushes about how lovely these taste and make his travel so warm.wpid-IMG_20130830_215116.jpg

 

Ingredients:

  • 120 gms unsalted butter(salted will also work, just skip adding the salt in the steps ahead)
  • 170 gms all purpose flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 150 gms brown sugar
  • 50 gms white sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 cup chocolate chips
  • 1 cup additional mix-in of your choice(toasted nuts, dried fruit, etc)

Recipe:
Start off by browning the butter until you get subtle hints of a nutty aroma. Once browned, stick it in the freezer to firm up a little for a few minutes.
Sift together flour, baking soda , salt(if using salted butter, skip adding the salt) in a bowl and set aside.
Beat the sugars and butter until pale and fluffy.
wpid-IMAG3208.jpg
On low speed, add the egg and vanilla.
wpid-IMAG3206.jpg
Gradually add in the flour mixture until just incorporated.
Fold in the chocolate chips and nuts (if desired)
Cover the dough with a plastic wrap and keep it overnight in the fridge or for at least 4 hours.
wpid-IMAG3228.jpg
Preheat the oven to 170℃ when ready to bake and drop tablespoon by tablespoon on an un-greased cookie sheet.
Bake for around 12 minutes or until done.wpid-IMG_20130901_1.png
Don’t overbake as the cookies will still continue to cook whilst its on the cookie sheet.
Transfer to a wire rack to cool completely and store at room temperature in an airtight container.

image

Here, have a bite!

Enjoy!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Roxann Verkler
    Sep 22, 2013 @ 20:39:04

    Wow that was odd. I just wrote an incredibly long comment but
    after I clicked submit my comment didn’t show up.

    Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again.

    Anyway, just wanted to say great blog!

    Reply

  2. Raelene Ludlow
    Sep 23, 2013 @ 09:22:29

    Thanks for a marvelous posting! I genuinely enjoyed reading it, you may
    be a great author.I will be sure to bookmark your blog and
    definitely will come back sometime soon. I want to encourage yourself to continue your great work, have a nice day!

    Reply

  3. Celsa Lutchman
    Sep 23, 2013 @ 11:49:24

    Your style is very unique in comparison to other folks I have
    read stuff from. Many thanks for posting when you have the opportunity, Guess I’ll just bookmark this
    web site.

    Reply

  4. Toby Weinzierl
    Sep 23, 2013 @ 19:20:28

    I was able to find good info from your content.

    Reply

  5. Rosetta Almanzar
    Sep 24, 2013 @ 02:28:44

    I have been surfing online more than 3 hours lately, yet I never discovered any fascinating
    article like yours. It’s pretty worth sufficient for me.
    In my view, if all site owners and bloggers made excellent content material as you
    did, the internet might be a lot more helpful
    than ever before.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

IndiBlogger

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Write Up Cafe

WriteUp Cafe - Together we Write

Blog Top Sites

