Homemade Bounty Bars

Yes yes! You read it right, your favorite bounty bars, minus all the unwanted preservatives ! When I saw this recipe , I was stumped, why couldn’t I think of making this recipe before? I mean, how simple can it get? Mix shredded coconut, condensed milk and sugar. Form into your favorite shapes. Stick it in the freezer to harden while you temper the chocolate. Dip, cool, enjoy!

Anyways, I like to caramelize my condensed milk until golden brown and use a dash of vanilla extract . I swapped granulated sugar for icing sugar,as I really prefer it this way. However you can use condensed milk and normal granulated sugar. But I find this tasting almost like coconut frosting. So well, no thank you! πŸ˜›

100_4771
Though I had little trouble melting the chocolate, and instead of keeping the mixture in the freezer until the moment I had to dip it into the chocolate, I had kept it out at room temperature. So the mixture had gotten really soft and difficult to work with. But just don’t make the mistakes I did, and you’ll be fine.

Ingredients:

  • 1 whole fresh coconut , around 130 grams(Skin removed, ground or shredded)
  • 1/3 rd cup (80ml) condensed milk
  • 1/4 th cup (40 grams) icing sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract/essence
  • Pinch of salt
  • 150 grams dark/milk chocolate, finely chopped

Recipe:
In a double boiler put a heatproof bowl and add the condensed milk and icing sugar. Mix well and in around 15-20 minutes, the condensed milk will have gotten a beautiful caramelized color. Take it off the heat. Add in the vanilla extract.

100_4768

A mixing bowl add the condensed milk and shredded coconut. Mix thoroughly.

100_4777

Line a baking sheet with wax/parchment paper and drop tablespoon by tablespoon this mixture onto it, or make balls/small logs with it. Stick it in the freezer to harden

100_4782

Meanwhile,melt 3/4th of the chocolate on a double boiler. Once this is melted, remove it off the heat and add the rest of the chocolate. The residual heat will cause this chocolate to melt

.100_4792

Once melted, dip the coconut logs into the chocolate and using a fork make sure the excess chocolate has dripped off. Place it on a sheet of parchment paper to dry and repeat with the rest of the logs.

If the chocolate starts to get really thick, put it back on the double boiler for a few seconds to thin out.

Transfer the chocolate dipped logs back into the freezer to harden.

Before eating, let them be out for a few minutes(around 3 minutes) to enjoy the bounty famous chew!

Here, have a bite!

Here, have a bite!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Khushboo
    Sep 11, 2013 @ 15:48:54

    Looks absolutely delicious! Will definitely try it out once I get my hands on the ingredients πŸ™‚

    Reply

  2. Microsoft Points Generator
    Sep 15, 2013 @ 19:07:32

    Good day I am so happy I found your web site, I really found you by error, while
    I was looking on Bing for something else, Anyways I am here now and would just like to say thanks for a marvelous post and
    a all round enjoyable blog (I also love the theme/design), I
    don’t have time to read it all at the moment but I have saved it and
    also included your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read much more, Please do
    keep up the awesome job.

    Reply

  3. Arthur
    Sep 15, 2013 @ 21:53:42

    Hello there, just became alert to your blog through Google, and found that it is really
    informative. I’m going to watch out for brussels. I will be grateful
    if you continue this in future. Many people will be benefited from your writing.
    Cheers!

    Reply

  4. Kyle Broch
    Sep 24, 2013 @ 01:36:04

    Hi to all, how is everything, I think every one
    is getting more from this website, and your
    views are fastidious in favor of new viewers.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

IndiBlogger

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Write Up Cafe

WriteUp Cafe - Together we Write

Blog Top Sites

