McVitie’s Digestive Biscuits

Whenever I get a lil too healthy for comfort, I turn towards “Diet” biscuits. Sugar free, oil free, no cholesterol, you name it and I’ve had it! My personal favorite is the McVitie’s Digestive and after guzzling down one too many, I thought about making my own.

Though not exactly like the original, they surely make the cut of being the almost-replica. I haven’t bought another McVities since I found this recipe. You can find the original recipe here . I omitted adding the Crisco,cream of tartar,half-n-half singles due to non-availability and used margarine in place of butter.

Next time, I’d probably add a little lesser sugar as I personally found them to be on the sweeter side. The cookies taste better with time, so make sure to store em in an air-tight container.

100_5258

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 cup wheat bran
  • 4 tablespoons butter (can sub with margarine)
  • 5 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla
  • 4 tbsp milk

Recipe:

In a large bowl, mix together the flours, bran, baking powder, baking soda, sugar with the pastry blender or a fork.

Mix in the margarine. The mixture at this point should resemble coarse breadcrumbs. 100_5232

Mix the vanilla in the milk and add to the mix. Mix with pastry blender or fork until it is a really soft dough. Refrigerate for a few minutes to make it easier to work with.

Roll out dough between wax paper to a thickness of 1/8th inch and cut into rounds with cookie cutter about 2 inches in diameter  .100_5247

Transfer to baking sheet and prick all over with a fork100_5250

Bake in a preheated oven at 176 C for 10-15 minutes or until done.100_5255

Cool on a wire rack and transfer to an airtight container,

Here, have a bite!

Here, have a bite!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sangeeta
    Oct 12, 2013 @ 18:32:38

    Nice to share this recipe.My family likes this buiscuit very much.

    Reply

  2. Linda
    Oct 20, 2013 @ 05:02:50

    I like your website and thought I would share the company I use to get lots of website visitors. http://gmbal.com/1910e I am very happy with the traffic that I receive from their offer and I would recommend them to any website owner.

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Biscuits inside cakes – chocolate digestives | Wobble a Jelly

Leave a Reply

IndiBlogger

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Write Up Cafe

WriteUp Cafe - Together we Write

Blog Top Sites

