Eggless Vanilla Ice-Cream

100_6329As the cold set in, I moved towards the thermostat. I needed warmth. Wrapped in my blanket, I kept replaying the events of the past few days. Still disheartened, I realized I needed fresh air. I slipped into a parka, put on my boots and opened the door. My snow filled lawn looked eerily unwelcoming. Moving forward, I was barely a few metres down the lawn and blasts of cold wind slapped across my face. I had all the “air” I needed. I headed back towards the warmth of my home. 

I lay on the couch, thinking of all the things. I needed to cook to get away from uncertainty. Cooking, more of baking does that to me. A bowl of hot soup seemed unappetizing. A memory jogged itself to present, and I was transported to another time. I was happily slurping on melted Amul Vanilla Ice-cream. Laughter and chatter all around me seemed so distant. I wanted Amul. Now.

With such weather, even the malls were shut. I decided to make Vanilla Ice-Cream and ease aka slurp away my discomfort.

I found a recipe online that didn’t need an ice-cream maker. The ice-cream is creamy. The ice-cream is good.  It gave me the taste I was looking for. It gave me comfort.

The tiny specks of vanilla showed me beauty. The creamy, no icicle texture gave me Amul.100_6336

Recipe adapted from here.

Ingredients

  • 500 ml full fat milk
  • 15 grams cornflour
  • 1/2 vanilla pod/ 2 tsp vanilla essence/ 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 200 grams granulated sugar  ground to a fine powder, but I suggest you keep more or less on hand depending on preference.
  • 200 ml cream (25% fat will work just fine)

Recipe:

Take around 4 tbsp of milk and add the cornflour to it. Mix and keep aside.

Take the rest of the milk and put it to a slow boil while you split the vanilla bean . Add in the vanilla bean to the milk and let it slowly simmer for around 10 minutes. If  you intend to not use a vanilla pod, let the milk simmer as it is. While this is happening, slowly beat the cream with the addition of sugar for a few minutes until it just starts to thicken up. Around 4-5 minutes . Do not do that in excess.

Once the milk has simmered for a whole 10 minutes on low heat, remove the vanilla pod and slowly add the cornflour mixture.  Again, if you’re using vanilla essence or extract just add the cornflour mixture.

As soon as you add the cornflour, you’ll notice that the milk considerably thickens up. Let it simmer for another few minutes and then put it out to cool.

In around 15-20 minutes, you’ll notice that the milk will have a custard-y impression. Alternatively, you can put it in the refrigerator to cool up faster. Once it has completely cooled, take a bowl and whip this on high for around 4 minutes. Next, fold in the cream that was whipped before and carefully pour it into a freezable container.

The ice-cream will be ready in around 3 hours if you have an exceptionally high-end freezer. Otherwise, once the ice-cream has frozen,churn this mixture once to erase out any icicles that may have formed and refreeze it again until it is solid. Or you can have it without the churning. Just like that.

100_6337

Here, have a bite!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Minnie@thelady8home
    Dec 29, 2013 @ 19:39:04

    Thank you so very much for linking this up, I am so glad it turned out good.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

IndiBlogger

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Write Up Cafe

WriteUp Cafe - Together we Write

Blog Top Sites

